Minutes of the 2007 Holt Challenge Inc Annual General Meeting Held at AMF Craigie, Perth, Western Australia 13th September 2007

Present: P. Coburn, P. Turner, L. Hickey, C. Cooper, D. Staier, C. Dennis, S. Billingham, G. Wilson, K. Willis, D.Simpson, J. Kent, G. Russell, S. Hendricksen, C. Sculthorpe, K. Huxley, D. Archer, M. Wentworth-Perry, R. Browning, B. Coleman, D. Nichols, J. Laver, S. Archer, J. Adams, C. Boerkamp, C. Haworth, D. Mitchell, N. Cook, E. Ratcliffe, C. Huxley, L. Hawkes, R. Hatchard.

Apologies: None

Meeting started at 7.33pm

Quorum: The voting strength of 9 voting delegates was established from the 9 zones represented in the Darrell Holt Restricted Challenge. Tasmania delegate joined the voting strength at 7.52pm.

Minutes from Previous Meeting: Moved by Danny Simpson (SQ) Seconded by Cheryl Dennis (ACT) and Agreed as tabled.

There was no business arising from these minutes.

The Chairman's Report, Secretary's Report and Treasurer's Report were Moved by Jeanette Kent Seconded by Daryl Nichols and agreed as tabled.

Notice of Motion to accept and adopt the Holt Challenge Inc Constitution as circulated. Moved by Peter Coburn Seconded by Lance Hickey. After brief discussions the Notice of Motion was agreed unanimously.

Election of Office Bearers, in line with the newly adopted Constitution, the following were reelected unopposed:

Peter Coburn – Chairman Pam Turner – Secretary Lance Hickey – Treasurer

As there were no nominations for the position of Vice Chairman and Tournament Director, nominations were sort from the floor.

Lance Hickey nominated Ronda Hatchard to Vice Chairman, Seconded by Jeanette Kent. Ronda Hatchard declined the nomination.

Danny Simpson nominated Jeanette Kent to Vice Chairman, Seconded by Shayne Hendricksen. Jeanette Kent accepted the nomination and was elected unopposed as Vice Chairman.

Cheryl Dennis nominated Jeff Whitty, Seconded by Jeanette Kent. Jeff Whitty accepted in absence and was elected unopposed as Tournament Director.

General Business

Chairman tabled correspondence since last meeting as followed:

- Letter from Australian Tax Office advising us of our ABN and TFN
- Letter from Hobart Tenpin Bowling Association advising distribution of \$1000 funds of \$4360 to Holt Challenge Inc over the next few years. Colin Sculthorpe on behalf of

HTBA spoke further on this correspondence. Chairman to write a letter of thank you to HTBA.

Letter from Telstra re event sponsorship

Pam Turner presented the proposed logo design as prepared by Katherine Elliott. After some discussion, Danny Simpson moved acceptance of this logo, seconded by Coral Haworth and unanimously agreed.

Cheryl Dennis raised the issue of the absence of flags in the centre during the course of the Carnival and Darrell Holt Restricted Challenge. National committee to organise the purchase of a set of state and national flags. Each zone to be invoiced for the purchase of their state flag. Moved by Colin Sculthorpe, Seconded by Jeanette Kent and unanimously agreed.

John Laver raised the issue of the non-compliance of the sponsorship logo on zone shirts. Rules may be altered to nominate the left sleeve as the preferred location of the new Darrell Holt Restricted Challenge national logo.

John Laver raised the issue of Risk Management and safety procedures whilst competing in the carnival and Holt Challenge, ie standing on seats and the back of seats. Dallas Archer raised the issue of the placement of spare balls on the seats and the consumption of food and drinks in the players area.

Dallas Archer queried the number of competitors allowed in the players area. Peter Coburn highlighted the definition of the 'field of play' and the competitors/coaches permitted in this area. Tournament Director to accent this in future events.

Jeanette Kent raised the issue of the introduction of a Classic Challenge. A scratch event for bowlers with a maximum average of 199 for men and 189 for women to include a team from each zone of 3 men and 3 women. Head to head games to have 4 in the line up at once, being 2 women and 2 men with men playing men and women playing women. Peter Coburn summarised the format and suggested this would be the format to introduce as an expansion pathway, ie start small and build up to a male and female division. Moved by Jeanette Kent, Seconded by John Laver and unanimously agreed.

A draft set of rules to be created immediately and circulated for review and comments.

John Laver made a suggestion as to the schedule and timing of the event. General discussion followed. Peter Coburn and the Tournament Committee to look at the schedule to cater for more All Events squad availability keeping in mind the introduction of a Classic Challenge and Seniors Week.

Kevin Huxley raised further queries as to the timing of the event to avoid school holidays. Coral Haworth clarified that none of the school holidays co-incided nationally and to avoid this would be very difficult. Further brief discussions followed.

Dallas Archer queried why we had decided to accredit zone trials, the carnival and the Holt Challenge. Further discussion followed regarding the desire to accredit future zone trials and carnivals. Peter Coburn stressed the non-existence of a rule banning bowlers if they bowled in an un-accredited event. This rule no longer exists or applies. Each state to ask their state bodies to decide if they wish to accredit their 2008 team trials, Challenge and carnival.

Cheryl Dennis moved an amendment to the tournament Dress Code to allow the ladies to wear any combination of skirts, shorts or pants. Seconded by Danny Simpson and unaminously agreed.

Kevin Huxley raised an incorporation query as each state is under the same national body, this affects the financial status of the national body and the Annual Return to be lodged with

CAV. Each state to urgently provide financial reports to Lance Hickey in order that he can prepare the Annual Statement.

Shayne Hendriksen moved a motion to maintain the event as the Darrell Holt Carnival or Challenge and sponsored by the sponsor rather than selling the naming rights for future events. Seconded by Danny Simpson and unaminously agreed.

Jeanette Kent moved a motion to provide our own branded merchandise rather than subcontract or counter supply to a sponsor. Jeanette to investigate all options further and report back to the executive committee.

The Chairman thanked all for their attendance. Meeting Closed at 9.38pm.

Halium